Officers for 2018-2019

Ian Tough JP

Upper Warden
Nicholas Somers

Other Warden
Michael Wren
Court of Assistants
David Wilson, Dr Ian Wingfield, Diane Riley, Leslie Grout, Mervyn Redding, Lawrence Day,
Dr Richard Fynes, Roger Davis, James Vickers, Terry Mullins, Norman Dale, Simon Tayler-Smith,
Simon S.Walsh, Trevor Haynes, Christopher Godbold, William Rennie, Tony Sharp (& Clerk)

Honorary Assistants of comittee
Prof Frederick Trowman M 2016; Judy Tayler-Smith M 2016-2017, Roger D'elia M 2017-2018

Tony Sharp
                     Website design by Roger Davis              |  © Copyright  2016 The Tanners Company of Bermondsey  -  All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      Internal Governance

The company’s powers to vary its activities are in its associated ‘Regulations / Ordinances’ (under the Charter §10) which give it considerable flexibility: “and to Constitute Ordaine and make such and so many reasonable By laws Orders and Ordnances as to the said Master Wardens and Assistants or the said Comittee or the greater part of them being then and there present shall seem necessary and convenient for the well Ordering and Government of the said Company and the said By laws Ordnances or any of them to alter and Annull as they or the Maior part of them shall see requisite”.
The subscriptions levied by the company on its members are termed ‘fines’ (§10) and are in no wise regarded by the company as its being able to ‘fine’, in the disciplinary sense of to penalise, anybody.
Master Tanners - Barrow, Hepburn and Gale?
Ian Tough JP being sworn in as Master for 2018/2019
The Tanners Company of Bermondsey